French, gorgeous and reads the news

I’m not lying! Mélissa Theuriau has been an internet sensation since a YouTube video was posted of her doing her thing on French television. It’s had more than 1.2 million views since June 2006, and she’s made such an impact she was voted 88th sexiest woman in the world in a recent FHM poll.

Of course, it is unfair to judge a lady on her looks alone. My French is merde so I can’t assess her delivery or the quality of her newscasts. Nor do I have any idea how much input she has into writing news reports or choosing content for broadcast.

But this is the society we live in; looks garner more attention than talent. Although I hold ability in far higher esteem than physical appearance, I do fall into the pretty culture trap on occasion. Would that the world was a meritocracy! Or perhaps it is and I just haven’t realised it yet. For now, though, let us all watch Mlle Theuriau.

Does this post make me a bad person?

Leave a Reply

